Positronic Halloween Video Game Quiz pt2

16:Character you’ve hated most? From what game?

Squall from FFVIII? Oghren from DA:O and Awakenings?  Det. Roy Earle, your Vice partner in L.A. Noire? Cole from InFamous? So many…

17:What game do you never tell people you play?

I can’t shut up about the games I play.

18:A game you wish your friends knew about?

The Witcher series. Seriously. Once I got past the learning curve on the combat mechanics and juvenile (but optional) sexcapades in the first game, this is just such a great RPG experience.

19:Which game do you think deserves a revival?

Like, a reboot? Or a remaster? For a franchise reboot, I’d vote for Parasite Eve.

20:What was the first video game you ever played?

On console, I’d have to say Pong, because I’m old. Arcade game, I’d say I remember playing Space Invaders in my pre-teens.

21:How old were you when you first played a video game?

See above – I think I was 8 or 9 when I played my first arcade game. I was maybe 10 or 11 when we got our Atari.

22:If you could immerse yourself in any game for one day, which game would it be? What would you do?

Wow. Like Tron or Wreck-it-Ralph-style? Most video game worlds are so full of things that can eat you or shoot you or things that you have to jump over and climb. I’m really too lazy to ever want to live like that, man. That said, my favorite video game world is the Mass Effect universe. I love Dragon Age’s lore but, yikes, no way would I want to live there. Also, oddly enough, I find playing Fallout: New Vegas so oddly soothing. Sometimes I turn it on just to run around and listen to the radio and watch the wind blow tumble weeds around.

23:Biggest disappointment you’ve had in gaming?

L.A. Noire’s game play is just…heartbreaking.

24:Casual, Hardcore, or in the middle?

Casual, man, but I play games I like over and over again and drain the hell out of every possible thing there is to do in there.

25:Be honest; have you ever used cheats (like ActionReplay or Gameshark)?

I have modded my PC games and tweaked PC gear and crap, but nothing like a straight up God-mode cheat. Dragon Age:Origins modded out on my PC doesn’t even resemble my console game.

26:Handheld or console?

I don’t care for handhelds – although Bravely Default on the 3DS is tempting.

27:Has there ever been a moment that has made you cry?

Yup. Mass Effect 3 has four or so moments when I tear up. Cried when Alistair gave the eulogy for my first Warden in my first Dragon Age playthrough, too.

28:Which character’s clothes do you wish you owned the most?

I want my enchanted Daedric Armor from Skyrim and my Reckoner Knight armor from Mass Effect 3, please. I’d also dress like Dracula in Castlevania if I could get away with it.

29:Which is more important, gameplay or story?

Both are important (see my comments about L.A. Noire) but story is my chief draw. Included in that are character, the world the story is set in, dialogue, and how the quests/tasks are presented and motivated – so writing is my chief draw, I guess you could say. I could overlook the sometimes crappy game play in the first Mass Effect because the story and world were so rich.

30:A game that hasn’t been localized in your country that you think should be localized?

I don’t keep up with those sorts of things.

Leave a Reply

